Building The Perfect Dad

I haven’t blogged in a long time. There are a few reasons for that. Time is little and precious, as are my children, and I am often called upon to draw horses with my kids. Sometimes I’m too busy, and a lot of times I’m too tired.

But mostly I’ve been occupied with my latest project.

I’ve been writing a book about my dad. I’ve written about him many times on my blog and not a day goes by that I don’t think about him. I tell my kids stories about him, I remind my little sisters of things he did with them because they were too little to remember him.

So one day, I decided that it wasn’t enough to just write about him occasionally or share a few stories about him with my kids. I want them to really know what he was like, to understand his humor and what made him tick. Even though he is not here in the flesh, I want them to see his face and hear his laugh as they read about the man that loved me so much.

I realize, though I only had him for sixteen years, I’ve been given a very precious gift. I had a dad worth telling about, that was faithful to my mother, hard-working and honest. I’ve never doubted his love and I knew he was always rooting for me. He thought so highly of me that I tried my best to exceed his expectations because I wanted to make him proud. He’s been gone more than half my life, but his influence still compels me to live intentionally.

I know not everyone is so lucky to have a dad they can be proud of. My own dad did not enjoy a happy childhood. My grandfather terrorized his family with beatings, squandered the little money they had on beer and women and crushed hope daily with his fists. My dad was raised in brokenness and didn’t know what a good father was until he learned about God’s unfailing love as an adult. He learned that what his dad sought to destroy, God our Father set out to redeem, take into his arms and make whole.

What I am increasingly aware of as I write my dad’s story is that his story can’t be told without being constantly reminded of God’s grace and love. That they are so inextricably intertwined that the first doesn’t make sense without the other. Grace is what holds it all together, makes sense of his darkest days and is the underpinning of his greatest moments.

Because my father chose to receive God’s forgiveness and love, he became the kind of dad he never had. He defied the odds and lived a life that showed me if a great man like my dad believed that God was faithful and worthy of our praise, then he must be.

My dad’s greatest legacy and the one thing I want my kids to know about him is that God can redeem anything and anyone, and nothing is beyond his power. Whether it’s building a father out of a broken man, or raising his son from the dead, nothing is too impossible for God’s grace and love.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Kristin Loehrmann

     /  June 13, 2013

    Beautiful. And I canNOT wait until your book is published. Because it will be. And I want to be the first to buy a copy. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • I believe in Jesus, loving people, living fully and creating good things. Whether it's art, food or finding solutions, I am always in "creative mode". With this blog I hope to encourage and help others to live in whatever "mode" God has called them to.

  • Recent Posts

  • Blogs By Category

  • Archives

  • My Pages

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • My Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

